Solved by verified expert:Can you make response each posted below; Here is the instruction below: Go to the P22-3A problem in your text. See the “Do it” example for information on break even analysis (also found in the Digital Book under Course Resources). Compute the breakeven point for fiscal year 2017. Compute the breakeven point in dollars under each of the alternative courses of action. What course of action do you recommend and why? Reference Weygandt, J., Kimmel, P. & Kieso, D. (2015). Accounting principles (12th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 1. From: Nancy Noel posted Mar 1, 2018 5:20 PM P22-3A Tanek Corp.’s sales slumped badly in 2017. For the first time in its history, it operated at a loss. The company’s income statement showed the following: Units sold: 500,000 Sales total: $2,500,000.00 Net Loss: $(100,000.00) 2017 Unit Selling Price: $5.00 Total Variable Fixed Average Total Cost (Total / Quantity) Cost of goods sold $2,140,000 $159,000 $550,000 Break-even total Selling expenses $250,000 $92,000 $158,000 Administrative expenses $210,000 $68,000 $142,000 Total Cost and Expenses $2,600,000 $319,000 $850,000 $5.20 2018 Proposals: Option 1 – 20% Increase to Selling Price 20% increase of selling price $1.00 New sales price $6.00 Total sales at $6 $3,000,000.00 Profit $400,000.00 Break-even $5.20 Option 2 – Decrease Salaries and Give Commission New Salary amount $60,000.00 5% Commission $25,000.00 New Total Salaries ,000.00 Remaining Overhead Expenses after decrease to salary $2,540,000.00 New Total Overhead ,625,000.00 Profit $125,000.00 Break-even $5.25 I would recommend that the selling price be raised by $1 or 20% from 2017. The total profit would be $400,000 if other expenses did not increase. Where lowering the salary and offering a 5% commission only brings in $125,000 profit, plus the company would have unhappy employees. Weygandt, J., Kimmel, P. & Kieso, D. (2015). Accounting principles (12th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2. From: Jaime Sanders posted Mar 3, 2018 10:52 PM Break-even point for FY17: (sales-variable costs)/sales=contribution margin (2,500,000-1,750,000)/2,500,000 750,000/2,500,000=.3=30% Fixed Cost/Contribution margin ration=break-even point dollars 850,000/.3=$2,833,333.33 Break-even point at 20% increase: $2,500,000/500,000=$5 $5*20%=$1 $5+$1=$6 500,000*$6=$3,000,000 (3,000,000-1,750,000)/3,000,000 1,250,000/3,000,000=.42=42% 850,000/.42=$2,023,809.52 Break-even point with changes to computation of salaries: Contribution Margin=30% Sales Commission: 2,500,000*.5=$125,000 Total salaries $60,000+$125,000=$185,000 Total fixed costs: $850,000+$35,000=$885,000 $885,000/.30=$2,950,000 I would recommend that the selling price be increased by 20%. This increase results in a lower break-even dollar amount and would be more attainable with continued sales of the same volume. Jaime Sanders Weygandt, J. J., Kimmel, P. D., & Kieso, D. E. (2015). Accounting Principles (12th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Delivering a high-quality product at a reasonable price is not enough anymore.
That’s why we have developed 5 beneficial guarantees that will make your experience with our service enjoyable, easy, and safe.
You have to be 100% sure of the quality of your product to give a money-back guarantee. This describes us perfectly. Make sure that this guarantee is totally transparent.Read more
Each paper is composed from scratch, according to your instructions. It is then checked by our plagiarism-detection software. There is no gap where plagiarism could squeeze in.Read more
Thanks to our free revisions, there is no way for you to be unsatisfied. We will work on your paper until you are completely happy with the result.Read more
Your email is safe, as we store it according to international data protection rules. Your bank details are secure, as we use only reliable payment systems.Read more
By sending us your money, you buy the service we provide. Check out our terms and conditions if you prefer business talks to be laid out in official language.Read more